Council Membership

Council Members, 2018-2021

Those marked with a (**) are re-appointments. All appointments are mandated representatives per Wis. Stat. § 15.197 (12), which refers to the Council on Birth Defect Prevention and Surveillance. The first line of each contact refers to the specific statute for that appointment.

“(a) Representative of the University of Wisconsin Medical School who has technical expertise in birth defects epidemiology.”
UW Medical School Representative
Maureen Durkin, PhD, DrPH,
Professor of Population Health Sciences and Pediatrics
Chair, Department of Population Health Sciences
UW Madison School of Medicine and Public Health; Room 707C WARF
610 Walnut Street
Madison, WI 53726
608-263-7507
maureen.durkin@wisc.edu

“(b) Representative from the Medical College of Wisconsin who has technical expertise in birth defects epidemiology.”
Medical College of Wisconsin Representative
   2025**Mir Abdul Basir, MD, MS
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Neonatologist, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
Medical Director, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Waukesha Memorial Hospital
Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI  53226
414-266-6820
mbasir@mcw.edu

“(bn) A pediatric nurse or a nurse with expertise in birth defects.”
Pediatric Nurse Representative
Hanna Rakovec, BSN, RN (Jordan Vogel, RN, BSN)
NICU Nurse Manager
Marshfield Children’s Hospital - Marshfield Medical Center
611 N Saint Joseph Avenue
Marshfield, WI 54449
715-387-7262
rakovec.hanna@marshfieldclinic.org

 “(c) A representative from the subunit of the department that is primarily responsible for the children with special health needs program.”
DHS Children with Special Health Needs Program Representative
Tami Horzewski, MS, CHES
State Newborn Screening Program Coordinator
UW–Madison, State Laboratory of Hygiene
In support of the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Public Health
1 West Wilson Street, PO Box 2659
Madison, WI  53701-2659
608-266-8904
tami.horzewski@wisconsin.gov

“(d) A representative from the subunit of the department that is primarily responsible for early intervention services.”
DHS Early Intervention Services Program Representative
Amy Pulda
Program and Policy Analyst Wisconsin Department of Health Services
Division of Medicaid Services - Bureau of Children’s Services
1 W Wilson, Room 418
Madison, WI 53703
608-266-8276
amy.pulda@dhs.wisconsin.gov

“(e) A representative from the subunit of the department that is primarily responsible for health statistics research and analysis.”
DHS Health Statistics Research and Analysis Representative
Jennifer Feske
Program and Policy Analyst - Advanced
Wisconsin Department of Health Services
Division of Public Health - State Vital Records Office
1 W. Wilson Street, Rm 172
Madison, WI  53701-0309
608-266-3124
jennifer.feske@dhs.wisconsin.gov

“(f) A representative of the State Medical Society of Wisconsin”
State Medical Society Representative
2025**Susan R. Davidson, MD
Fetal Medicine & Maternal Medicine
700 South Park Street
Madison, WI  53715
608-252-7458
Susan.Davidson@deancare.com

“(g) A representative of the Wisconsin Health and Hospital Association.”
Wisconsin Health and Hospital Association Representative
Ann Zenk RN BSN MHA
Vice President, Workforce and Clinical Practice
Wisconsin Hospital Association
5510 Research Park Drive
Fitchburg, WI 53711
608-274-1820
azenk@wha.org

“(h) A representative of the American Academy of Pediatrics‑Wisconsin Chapter.”
Wisconsin Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics Representative
2025**Kerry B. Jedele, MD
Medical Director, Genetics
Department of Pediatric Specialties
Gundersen Health System
1900 South Avenue, H03-003
La Crosse, WI  54601
608-775-2982
KBJedele@gundersenhealth.org

“(i) A representative of the Board for People with Developmental Disabilities.”
Council on Developmental Disabilities Representative
Jenny Neugart
Community Outreach and Advocacy Director
The Wisconsin Board for People with Developmental Disabilities (BPDD)
101 East Wilson Street, Room 219
Madison, WI  53703
608-266-7707
jennifer.neugart@wisconsin.gov

“(j) A representative of a nonprofit organization that has as its primary purpose the prevention of birth defects and does not promote abortion as a method of prevention.”
Nonprofit Organization Representative
Kyle Mounts
Deputy Executive Director-Programs
Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care & Perinatal Foundation
211 South Paterson Street, Suite 250
Madison, WI  53703
608-285-5858, Ext. 204
mounts@perinatalweb.org

Nonprofit Organization Representative
Marilyn Noll
State Director of Program Services, Advocacy and Government Affairs March of Dimes - Wisconsin Chapter
241 18th St. South, Suite 403
Arlington VA  22202
404-203-3118; 214-886-3266 (mobile)
MNoll@marchofdimes.org

“(k) A parent or guardian of a child with a birth defect.”
Parent Representative
Ryan Freund
13555 W. Edgewood Ave.
New Berlin, WI 53151
262-527-0011
Rdfreund@gmail.com

Parent Representative (Agency)
Brigit Frank, Education and Training Coordinator
Family Voices of Wisconsin
PO Box 5070
Madison, WI 53705
608-395-8214
Brigit@fvofwi.org

“(L) A representative of a local health department, as defined in Wis. Stat § 250.01(4), who is not an employee of the department of health and family services.”
Local Public Health Department Representative
VACANT